Mass Honors Friars’ Anniversaries at Annual Retreat Led by Bishop Alberto Bochatey, O.S.A.

During the annual retreat for friars of the Province of Saint Thomas of Villanova, held June 7 – 12, on the grounds of Villanova University, friars who have anniversaries of profession or ordination in 2015 were honored. Over 80 friars attended the retreat, which was led by Alberto Bochatey, O.S.A., Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina. Pope Benedict XVI named Alberto Bochatey, O.S.A., a bishop in December of 2012.

Bishop Alberto Bochatey, O.S.A., leading a session at the friars'  annual retreat

Bishop Alberto Bochatey, O.S.A., leading a session at the friars’  annual retreat

The retreat began on Sunday, June 7, 2015, when friars gathered for a meal, followed by vespers in the Monastery Chapel. Each day consisted of morning prayer, and morning and afternoon sessions. Evening prayer followed the afternoon session. The sessions were broken during the day with a lunch and Mass was celebrated daily before lunch. An evening meal followed the afternoon sessions, which allowed ample time for the friars to share fraternal brotherhood and social time during meals. The retreat ended after lunch on Friday, June 12.

On Wednesday, the schedule deviated, as the Prior Provincial celebrated a late afternoon Mass honoring those friars whose anniversary of their religious profession or ordination occurs in 2015.  This was followed by an Anniversary Dinner in the Connelly Center.

The text for Father Michael’s homily for the Anniversary Mass can be read here.

The friars who have anniversaries in 2015 include:

Anniversary of Religious Profession

75 Years
James L. Nolan, O.S.A.… +

50 Years
Arthur B. Chappell, O.S.A
Richard C. Ekmann, O.S.A.
James R. Flynn, O.S.A.
James T. Spenard, O.S.A.

Anniversary of Ordination

50 Years
John J. McKenzie, O.S.A.
Francis X. Gallogly, O.S.A.
Francis A. Sirolli, O..S.A.
Richard M. Nahman, O.S.A.
Thomas M. Murname, O.S.A.
Dennis J. Gallagher, O.S.A.

25 Years
James W. Cassidy, O.S.A.
Stephen J. Baker, O.S.A.
John T. Denny, O.S.A.